Mexico vs Venezuela: What to Expect from El Tri's First 2012 Match?

Karla Villegas GamaFeatured ColumnistJanuary 24, 2012

SEATTLE - MAY 28:  Manager José Manuel de la Torre of Mexico looks on during the match against Ecuador at Qwest Field on May 28, 2011 in Seattle, Washington. Mexico and Ecuador played to a 1-1 tie.(Photo by Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images)
Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images

El Tri will face Venezuela in its first 2012 game. Mexico has played against La Vinotinto nine times, the record favors the CONCACAF team with seven wins and two draws.

Hoping to continue with the good results, José Manuel Chepo de la Torre called 20 players for the match.

Mexico's squad is full of youngsters, only six players are 28 years or older; the age average is 25 years.

De la Torre won't have some key players, like Javier Hernández, Giovani dos Santos or Pablo Barrera, but will try others, such as Rafael Márquez Lugo, who scored six goals and had two assists last season, and Oribe Peralta who was runner-up in last season's top-scorers table.

There's more good news for the Mexican coach, the players that were suspended for a six-month span last summer prior to the Copa América, due to indiscipline, are eligible again, thus he called Israel Jiménez, Marco Fabián, Javier Cortés and Néstor Calderón.

With a team full of domestically-based players, de la Torre needs to start seeking players for the 2012 Olympics, and by the way the line-up looks seems like he's more committed than ever.

This is one of the least experienced teams Mexico has put together for a match against Venezuela, but the chances are they'll maintain the undefeated strike.

Jesús Corona (Cruz Azul)
Alfredo Talavera (Toluca) 

Hugo Ayala (Tigres)
Israel Jiménez (UANL)
Hiram Mier (Monterrey)
Edgar Dueñas (Toluca)
Carlos Salcido (UANL)
Jesús Zavala (Monterrey)
Efraín Velarde (UNAM)
Jorge Torres Nilo (UANL)
Nestor Araujo (Cruz Azul) 

Marco Fabián (Chivas)
Javier Aquino (Cruz Azul)
Israel Castro (Cruz Azul)
Javier Cortés (UNAM)
Edgar Andrade (Chiapas)
Jesús Molina (América)
Nestor Calderón (Toluca)

Oribe Peralta (Santos)
Rafael Márquez Lugo (Morelia)