Canadian Women's Hockey League: 2012 League Awards

Mike BurseCorrespondent IMarch 22, 2012

VANCOUVER, BC - FEBRUARY 25:  Meghan Agosta #2 of Canada is challenged by Kerry Weiland #23 of the United States during the ice hockey women's gold medal game between Canada and USA on day 14 of the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics at Canada Hockey Place on February 25, 2010 in Vancouver, Canada.  (Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images)
Alex Livesey/Getty Images

The 2012 CWHL awards were handed out in Niagara Falls the day before the 2012 Clarkson Cup tournament began. With many great performances this season it was a difficult decision in picking the winners.

The Montreal Stars' Meghan Agosta lit up the league this year with 41 goals and 39 assists in 27 games. She finished the year at a plus-59 with five game-winning goals. These totals helped her win the Angela James award for being the top scorer in the league as well as being named the MVP of the CWHL.

Boston Blades goaltender Molly Schaus was awarded best goaltender with a record of 16 wins and seven losses with a 2.38 goals against average and 0.910 save percentage.

Courtney Birchard of Brampton HC had three goals (including two game-winning goals), 13 assists and a plus-13 rating. With these numbers she was awarded as the Rookie of the Year.

Boston Blades head coach Lauren McAuliffe was awarded as Coach of the Year leading her team to 20 wins and seven losses. This included 107 goals for and 61 goals against. This record has also earned Boston a shot at the Clarkson Cup.

The Clarkson Cup tournament consists of six round-robin games played between March 22 and March 24. The Clarkson Cup final will be played Sunday March 25 at 1 p.m. and will be broadcasted on TSN2. You can watch the round-robin games on The Streaming Sports Network.

You will see highly skilled hockey players if you tune in. Many current and former Olympians will be playing, including Megan Agosta, Angela Ruggiero, Caroline Ouellette, Gillian Apps, Kelli Stack, Jayna Hefford, Gigi Marvin, Molly Schaus, Sami Jo Small, Tessa Bonhomme and many more.

To find out when you can watch, click here to be linked to the CWHL Clarkson Cup page.

Follow @mikeburse on Twitter