Iowa Corn Indy 250 2012 Results: Reaction, Leaders and Post-Race Analysis

Nicholas Goss@@NicholasGoss35Correspondent IJune 23, 2012

NEWTON, IA - JUNE 22:  Dario Franchitti of Scotland, driver of the #10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda Dallara passes Marco Andretti in his #26 RC Cola Andretti Autosport Chevrolet Dallara during qualifying for the IZOD INDYCAR Series Iowa Corn Indy 250 at Iowa Speedway on June 22, 2012 in Newton, Iowa.  (Photo by Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images)
Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images

Updated Sunday, June 24 at 1:00 a.m. ET by Michael Moraitis

A rain delay before the start of the Iowa Corn Indy 250 helped build anticipation for the race and it was certainly a race that was worth the wait for winner, Ryan Hunter-Reay, and his team, Andretti AutoSport.

The rain didn't seem to bother the drivers too much and the track looked to be in good condition. However, you would not have known that seeing all the wrecks that happened over the course of the night and as a result, caution flags were flying all race long.

Here's how the race worked itself out in Iowa, courtesy of

Race Results

1Ryan Hunter-Reay28Chevrolet
2Marco Andretti26Chevrolet
3Tony Kanaan11Chevrolet
4Scott Dixon9Honda
5Simon Pagenaud77Honda
6Helio Castroneves3Chevrolet
7Rubens Barrichello8Chevrolet
8Ed Carpenter20Chevrolet
9Graham Rahal38Honda
10Justin Wilson18Honda
11Charlie Kimball83Honda
12Takuma Sato15Honda
13Katherine Legge6Chevrolet
14James Jakes19Honda
15Simona De Silvestro78Lotus
16Alex Tagliani98Honda
17James Hinchcliffe27Chevrolet
18Ryan Briscoe2Chevrolet
19Josef Newgarden67Honda
20Mike Conway14Honda
21Oriol Servia22Chevrolet
22JR Hildebrand4Chevrolet
23E.J. Viso5Chevrolet
24Will Power12Chevrolet
25Dario Franchitti10Honda

Ryan Hunter-Reay picked up the win, his second of the season and his second in-a-row. The victory puts Hunter-Reay second in the points standings, two spots up from his previous position.

It was a two horse race for much of the evening with Helio Castroneves and Scott Dixon both leading the way. Late in the race with only 12 laps to go, Dixon was passed by Hunter-Reay for the lead and Dixon ended up finishing fourth in what was a frustrating finish.

Had this been the Iowa Corn Indy 245, Dixon might have come out victorious. Dixon stays put at third in the points standings.

Both Tony Kanaan and Marco Andretti finished on the podium for a second straight race. Hunter-Reay had to fight off his teammate in order to complete the exciting victory in Iowa.

The Iowa Speedway Twitter page spelled out just how great this race was.

What a great race tonight! The IndyCar Series is really putting on a show tonight during the Iowa Corn Indy 250!

— Iowa Speedway (@iowaspeedway) June 24, 2012

Thanks to the dreaded rain delay, we all had to stay up a little extra late tonight to watch the race as spelled out by the Detroit Grand Prix.

We'll be staying up late tonight with @IndyCar watching the Iowa Corn Indy 250 on @NBCSN.

— Detroit Grand Prix (@detroitgp) June 24, 2012

Dario Franchitti had some engine problems this evening and that forced him out of the race before it even started. Here's what he had to say.

Well that didn't go as planned... A real shame as that motor has been good to me (it won Indy) Thanks @nbcsports for having me in the booth

— Dario Franchitti (@dariofranchitti) June 24, 2012

Mario Andretti took the time to congratulate his drivers, both of which had a strong showing tonight.

Congrats @RyanHunterReay great win also @MarcoAndretti P2 @GoDaddy @FollowAndretti

— Mario Andretti (@MarioAndretti) June 24, 2012

Scott Birch, a writer from the Des Moines Register, let us know just how bad a night Scott Dixon had towards the end of the race as he was left in the dust with a fourth place finish.

Ryan Hunter-Reay blows by Scott Dixon for the lead. Then, Marco Andretti passes Dixon for second. Wowzers. #IndyCar

— Tommy Birch (@TommyBirch) June 24, 2012

End of Update

Iowa will be the focus of IndyCar enthusiasts on Saturday as racing fans get ready for the 2012 Iowa Corn Indy 250 at the Iowa Speedway.

Dario Franchitti will have a great chance to continue his fantastic season with another victory after winning the pole during qualifying.

Check back for race reaction, results and analysis from the Iowa Speedway.

Where: Iowa Speedway, Newton, Iowa

When: Saturday, June 23 at 10:00 p.m. ET

Watch: NBC Sports Network

WEST ALLIS, WI - JUNE 16: Tony Kanaan of Brazil, driver of the #11 GEICO/Mouser Electronics KVRT Racing Technology Chevrolet Dallara, drives to a second place finish during the IZOD IndyCar Series Milwaukee Indy Fest 225 at The Milwaukee Mile on June 16,
Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images


1) Dario Franchitti

2) Helio Castroneves

3) Marco Andretti

4) James Hinchcliffe

5) Ryan Bricsoe

6) Will Power

7) Ryan Hunter-Reay

8) Scott Dixon

9) Tony Kanaan

10) Graham Rahal

11) Alex Tagliani

12) Josef Newgarden

13) Rubens Barrichello

14) J.R. Hildebrand

15) Justin Wilson

16) E.J. Viso

17) Charlie Kimball

18) Oriol Servia

19) Katherine Legge

20) Mike Conway

21) James Jakes

22) Ed Carpenter

23) Simona de Silvestro

24) Takuma Sato

25) Simon Pagenaud


    Nats Have the Perfect Bryce Replacement

    Featured logo

    Nats Have the Perfect Bryce Replacement

    Danny Knobler
    via Bleacher Report

    Could LeBron and KD Team Up on the Lakers?

    Featured logo

    Could LeBron and KD Team Up on the Lakers?

    Eric Pincus
    via Bleacher Report

    Newest MLB Power Rankings 📈

    Featured logo

    Newest MLB Power Rankings 📈

    Joel Reuter
    via Bleacher Report

    Thomas Doesn't Have Leverage in This Holdout

    Featured logo

    Thomas Doesn't Have Leverage in This Holdout

    Doug Farrar
    via Bleacher Report