Grand Prix of Brazil 2012 Results: Reaction, Leaders and Postrace Analysis

Rick WeinerFeatured ColumnistNovember 25, 2012

SAO PAULO, BRAZIL - NOVEMBER 25:  Jenson Button of Great Britain and McLaren celebrates on the podium after winning the Brazilian Formula One Grand Prix at the Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace on November 25, 2012 in Sao Paulo, Brazil.  (Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images)
Clive Mason/Getty Images

Jenson Button won the Grand Prix of Brazil while Sebastian Vettel took home his third consecutive Formula One World Championship on a soggy, emotional day at Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace (formerly Interlagos) in São Paulo, Brazil on Sunday.

Button, who won the first race of the season in Melbourne, Australia, held off Fernando Alonso (2.754 seconds behind) and Felipe Massa (3.615) for the checkered flag:

What a way to end the season with another stunning win for @thefifthdriver in Brazil. Congratulations to @jensonbutton and to all involved!

— McLaren Automotive (@McLarenAuto) November 25, 2012

Vettel, who was involved in a first-lap crash and had an extended stay in pit row, was able to recover and finish in sixth place, earning eight points. It was enough to cover the 18 points earned by Alonso in second place and edge him out, 281-278, for the Formula One Championship. In doing so, he becomes F1's youngest three-time champion at age 25.

Lewis Hamilton, the 2008 Formula One champion and member of McLaren's racing team since 2007, had pole position and led the race as late as Lap 54, when Nico Hulkenberg lost control of his car in Turn 1 and crashed into Hamilton, forcing him from the race:

Lewis returns to the VMM pit garage and gets a standing ovation from everyone. RESPECT.

— McLaren (@TheFifthDriver) November 25, 2012

This was Hamilton's final race for McLaren, who will be moving to Mercedes for the 2013 season.

Here are the results of the season finale as well as the Formula One Championship results—bringing an end to an outstanding season of Formula One racing.


2012 Brazil Grand Prix Results

Check out full results here (via

Position Driver Manufacturer Time Behind (seconds)
1 Jenson Button Mercedes-Benz  
2 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 2.754
3 Felipe Massa Ferrari 3.615
4 Mark Webber Renault 4.936
5 Nico Hulkenberg Cosworth 5.708
6 Sebastian Vettel Renault 9.453
7 Michael Schumacher Mercedes-Benz 11.907
8 Jean-Eric Vergne Ferrari 28.653
9 Kamui Kobayashi Ferrari 31.25
10 Kimi Raikkonen Renault

1+ laps


Formula One Championship Standings

Check out full leaderboard here (via

Position Driver Points
1 Sebastian Vettel 281
2 Fernando Alonso 278
3 Kimi Raikkonen 207
4 Lewis Hamilton 190
5 Jensen Button 188
6 Mark Webber 179
7 Felipe Massa 122
8 Romain Grosjean 96
9 Nico Rosberg 93
10 Sergio Perez 66