Johnny Manziel Wins Heisman Trophy: Manti Te'o, Irish Dodge National Title Jinx

John RozumCorrespondent IDecember 8, 2012

Johnny Football is now Heis-Manziel
Johnny Football is now Heis-ManzielMike Stobe/Getty Images

Johnny Manziel just saved Manti Te'o and Notre Dame from the Heisman Trophy jinx in the BCS title game.

For one, quite a bit of pressure is taken off of Te'o and the Irish. In short, that includes Notre Dame's rich tradition and history regarding the Heisman as well as national titles.

Secondly, Notre Dame is trying to knock off the SEC for a BCS title and do it over Nick Saban and the Alabama Crimson Tide, who are only the defending champions.

And lastly, the Irish are 12-0 and another national title would finish a perfect season. Can you imagine how amplified the magnitude of this season's BCS championship game would be had Te'o won the Heisman?

Words would not be able to justifiably describe it.

Now whether you believe in jinxes or not, the exception here revolves around the SEC.

Mark Ingram of Alabama and Cam Newton of Auburn are the recent Heisman Trophy winners who also followed up with a perfect season and BCS national title. Prior to Ingram and Newton, though, plenty of Heisman winners went on to lose the national championship game.

Sam Bradford and Oklahoma were ousted by the Florida Gators, as was Troy Smith of Ohio State.

Before the Buckeyes fell to Florida and the SEC began its reign of supremacy, Reggie Bush of USC lost to Vince Young and the Texas Longhorns. Interestingly enough in 2004, USC's Matt Leinart defeated Oklahoma and Jason White after White won the Heisman in 2003.

White also lost the title game in 2003.

Include Chris Weinke winning it for Florida State in 2000 and Eric Crouch for Nebraska in 2001, and we add two more Heisman winners that lost in the subsequent national championship game.

So far, just looking at the 21st century, the SEC simply owns the BCS title game.

Before the six straight victories, the LSU Tigers were the ones who got a win over Oklahoma after White won the Heisman. Fast forward to 2012 and the SEC looks for an eighth BCS championship and a seventh consecutive one.

Five times have the Heisman Trophy winner and the SEC both been a part of the national championship game. And all five times the SEC came out on top, whether it had the Heisman winner (Ingram and Newton) or competed against him (White, Smith and Bradford).

Therefore, regardless of the jinx being believed or not, the SEC has proven time and time again that it is college football's championship standard. On the bright side, Te'o can now focus on the Tide without the added pressures that come with being a Heisman winner.


Follow John Rozum on Twitter.