Honolulu Marathon 2012 Results: Men's and Women's Top Finishers

Justin Welton@JustinWeltonAnalyst IIDecember 9, 2012

Photo credit: Jamm Aquino/jaquino@staradvertiser.com
Photo credit: Jamm Aquino/jaquino@staradvertiser.com

Wilson Kipsang of Kenya won the 2012 Honolulu Marathon for the men's race with a time of two hours, 12 minutes and 31 seconds, according to the Star-Advertiser. It may have not been a record time, but it still was an impressive performance as he pulled away from his challengers.

UPDATE: Sunday, Dec. 9 at 4:30 p.m. ET by Justin Welton

According to HonoluluMarathon.org, Markos Geneti finished in second place at the Honolulu Marathon with a time of two hours, 13 minutes and eight seconds. Kiplimo Kimutai finished in third with a time of two hours, 14 minutes and 15 seconds.

Defending champion Woynishet Girma of Ethiopia finished in second place in the women's race with a time of two hours, 32 minutes and 22 seconds. Stephanie Rothstein-Bruce of the United States finished in third with a time of two hours, 32 minutes and 47 seconds.

---End of Update---

Kipsang pulls away to win Honolulu Marathon - Honolulu Star sns.mx/cmlQy4

— Honolulu Daily (@HonoluluDaily) December 9, 2012

The Olympic bronze medalist put on a fantastic showing throughout the course but really turned it on in the latter portion of the race.

According to the Star-Advertiser, Kipsang was contending for the top spot with four challengers with about five miles remaining. It was the Kenyan's 23rd mile that set him apart from the competition, however.

Kipsang ran his 23rd mile in a time of 4:39 to pull away from the pack.

According to Dave Reardon of the Star-Advertiser, Valentina Galimova of Russia earned the win for the women's race:

Valentina Galimova wins the women's race at the Honolulu Marathon. Unofficial time of 2:31:23. #hnlmarathon

— Dave Reardon (@dave_reardon) December 9, 2012

In addition, Krige Schabort won his ninth wheelchair title with a time of 1:33:17.

Men's Results

Wilson Kipsang (KEN)— 2:12:31

Markos Geneti (ETH)— 2:13:08

Kiplimo Kimutai (KEN)— 2:14:15

Patrick Ivuti (KEN)— 2:14:55

Julius Arile (KEN)— 2:15:17

Women's Results

Valentina Galimova (RUS)2:31:23

Woynishet Girma (ETH)— 2:32:22

Stephanie Rothstein-Bruce (USA)— 2:32:47