Johnny Manziel, Montee Ball, Manti Te'o Headline AP All-America Team

Adam WellsFeatured ColumnistDecember 11, 2012

The Associated Press has released its 2012 All-America Team, with Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel from Texas A&M leading the first-team offense and Notre Dame superstar Manti Te'o carrying the defense. 

All told, there are 25 players from 20 different schools on the first team. Manziel is joined by Wisconsin running back Montee Ball and USC wide receiver Marqise Lee on the offensive side.

Along with Te'o, South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney and Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones lead a stellar defensive crop. As much as we all love to see offense shine, the defense might be more impressive from top to bottom this year. 

With so many talented performers battling it out for so few spots, there were going to be a few notable first-team snubs. Players like Oregon running back Kenjon Barner, Notre Dame tight end Tyler Eifert and UCLA linebacker Anthony Barr had to settle for second-team status. 

Manziel and Texas A&M just continue to rack up the honors. The freshman quarterback was honored over the weekend with the Heisman Trophy, the first time since 1957 that a Texas A&M player has won the award. 

Ball wrapped up his senior season by leading Wisconsin to another Big Ten championship and making his second consecutive All-America Team. 

Here is the full list of players named to the 2012 AP All-America First Team. 


 QB - Johnny Manziel Texas A&M
 RB - Montee Ball, Wisconsin
 RB - Ka'Deem Carey, Arizona
 T - Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M
 T - Taylor Lewan, Michigan
 G - Chance Warmack, Alabama
 G - Jonathan Cooper, North Carolina
 C - Barrett Jones, Alabama
 TE - Zach Ertz, Stanford
 WR - Marqise Lee, USC
 WR - Terrance Williams, Baylor
 All-Purpose - Tavon Austin, West Virginia
 K - Cairo Santos, Tulane
 End - Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
 End - Bjoern Werner, Florida State
 T - Star Lotulelei, Utah
 T - Will Sutton, Arizona State
 LB - Manti Te'o, Notre Dame
 LB -Jarvis Jones, Georgia
 LB - C.J. Mosley, Alabama
 CB - Dee Milliner, Alabama
 CB - Jordan Poyer, Oregon State
 S - Phillip Thomas, Fresno State
 S - Matt Elam, Florida
 P - Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech