Sprint Unlimited 2013 Results: Kevin Harvick's Victory Sets Up Dominant Season

Jesse ReedCorrespondent IFebruary 17, 2013

DAYTONA BEACH, FL - FEBRUARY 16: Kevin Harvick, driver of the #29 Budweiser Chevrolet, poses with his crew after winning the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Sprint Unlimited at Daytona International Speedway on February 16, 2013 in Daytona Beach, Florida.  (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)
Chris Graythen/Getty Images

Kevin Harvick dominated the competition in the opening race of the Sprint Unlimited 2013 series, and his victory sets him up beautifully for a tremendous final season with Richard Childress Racing.

Harvick and his crew weren't satisfied with the victory, as the AP reports:

Kevin Harvick and his Richard Childress Racing team sent a message to the garage following their dominating win in the first race of the 2013 season. The team has 38 final races together and plans to get everything out of each one of them...Harvick is determined to show this won't be a lame duck season.

Harvick is set to move to Stewart-Haas Racing in 2014, but it's clear he isn't taking his final season with Richard Childress Racing for granted.

He led for 40 of the 75 total laps on Saturday against the rest of the field of this event's winners and pole-position winners, proving that he's ready to take the Generation-6 race car to the next level. It was also Harvick's third time winning this event.

This race was the perfect debut of the new vehicle, and it was an ideal format for such an introduction, as it afforded the drivers a chance to test it out without too much of a risk for a big crash.

Unfortunately, boys will be boys, and there was a bit of a pileup when  Tony Stewart clipped Marcus Ambrose on Lap 15, forcing officials to use the caution flag and forcing six drivers out of the race.

Harvick will now get set to take on a loaded field at the Daytona 500 on Feb. 24. He's a past champion at Daytona, winning the event in 2007. 

If the past three years are any indication, Harvick and his crew are set up for another great run in 2013. He's won nine events now since the beginning of the 2010 season, and during that time, Harvick has placed in the top five a whopping 31 times (including Saturday's win). 

This team is just getting started, though, as 2013 will be a banner year for Harvick and Richard Childress Racing. 


Results and Times

*All times and positions courtesy of Fox Sports

**Times listed are for the cars’ final lap times

Finish Car No. Driver Time Laps
1 29 Kevin Harvick 46.149 75
2 16 Greg Biffle 46.115 75
3 22 Joey Logano 46.042 75
4 14 Tony Stewart 46.332 75
5 20 Matt Kenseth 45.964. 75
6 43 Aric Almirola 46.279 75
7 5 Kasey Kahne 46.207 75
8 99 Carl Edwards 46.36 75
9 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 45.745 75
10 56 Martin Truex Jr. 45.481 75
11 42 Juan Pablo Montoya 46.807 75
12 9 Marcos Ambrose 68.071 75
13 78 Kurt Busch UNK 17
14 48 Jimmie Johnson 45.215 15
15 11 Denny Hamlin 45.043 15
16 18 Kyle Busch 45.069 15
17 24 Jeff Gordon 45.078 15
18 55 Mark Martin 45.332 15
19 32 Terry Labonte 45.862 3


Follow me on Twitter @JesseReed78