Women's hockey logoWomen's hockey

Brad Frost Reflects on Magical Dream Season with Golden Gophers

Brad Frost with 2013 Patty Kazmaier Award winner Amanda Kessel, Image obtained from: http://www.pattykaz.com/news_article/show/241250?referrer_id=718465
Brad Frost with 2013 Patty Kazmaier Award winner Amanda Kessel, Image obtained from: http://www.pattykaz.com/news_article/show/241250?referrer_id=718465
Mark StaffieriContributor IIApril 11, 2013

Quickly emerging as one of the top coaches in NCAA women’s hockey, Minnesota Golden Gophers head coach Brad Frost had a season to remember. By season’s end, Frost led his team to an undefeated season consisting of 41 wins and an NCAA Frozen Four national title.

Although the undefeated season was as unexpected as it was welcomed, Frost approached the accomplishment with humility.

“It was never and has never been a goal of ours to go undefeated," Frost said. "You go into a season hoping to develop your players as people and hockey players, focusing on the process and expecting them to come together as a team.”

A great point of pride for Frost was to see three Gophers players (Megan Bozek, Amanda Kessel and Noora Raty) named finalists for the Patty Kazmaier Award in 2013. In addition, all three would garner All-America honors.

“It's a great representation of our players and their commitment to our program. It's also a compliment to our coaching staff and all the work they do for our kids.”

Having inherited the coaching position from Laura Halldorson, Frost had big shoes to fill. Employing great acumen, Frost honored her legacy while building one of his own. In his first six seasons with the Maroon and Gold, he has accumulated an impressive 186 wins.

During his Gophers career, he has coached a venerable who’s who of women’s hockey. From Gigi Marvin and the Lamoureux sisters (Jocelyne and Monique) to Jen Schoullis and Anne Schleper (who helped Frost win his first Frozen Four title in 2012), along with international stars like Raty and Mira Jalosuo, Frost has been privileged to have some of the finest in the game on his roster. 

With a recruiting class featuring Minnesota Ms. Hockey Award winner Dani Cameranesi arriving in autumn 2013, win No. 200 should be accomplished quickly for Frost. Cameranesi and 2012 WCHA Rookie of the Year Hannah Brandt (both Minnesota Ms. Hockey Award winners) compose a strong scoring foundation, meaning that a great group is in place to maintain the Gophers' proud winning tradition.

“At the University of Minnesota, it is always a goal of ours to make it to the Frozen Four to give ourselves an opportunity to win the National Championship," Frost said. "Next year’s team will be completely different, so we will see how they gel as a team and perform.”


*All quotes obtained first hand unless otherwise indicated.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices