2013 Kentucky Derby Results: Winner, Payouts and Full Order of Finish

Matt FitzgeraldCorrespondent IIIMay 4, 2013

Orb rallied from an early deficit for a thrilling victory in the 139th running of the Kentucky Derby by two-and-a-half lengths on Saturday, followed by Golden Soul and Revolutionary to round out the top three.

Jockey Joel Rosario brilliantly navigated Orb on an arduous, sloppy track to make it to the winner's circle, notching the first jewel in horse racing's Triple Crown.

Here are the results from the 2013 Run for the Roses:

Place Horse Jockey Trainer Post
1 Orb Joel Rosario Claude R. McGaughey III 16
2 Golden Soul Robby Albarado Dallas Stewart 4
3 Revolutionary Calvin Borel  Todd Pletcher 3
4 Normandy Invasion Javier Castellano Chad Brown 5
5 Mylute Rosie Napravnik Tom Amoss 6
6 Oxbow Gary Stevens D. Wayne Lukas 2
7 Lines of Battle Ryan Moore Aidan O'Brien 11
8 Will Take Charge Jon Court D. Wayne Lukas 17
9 Charming Kitten Edgar Prado Todd Pletcher 15
10 Giant Finish Jose L. Espinoza  Anthony W. Dutrow 7
11 Overanalyze  Rafael Bejarano Todd Pletcher  9
12 Palace Malice Mike Smith Todd Pletcher  10
13 Java's War  Julien Leparoux Kenny McPeek 19
14 Verrazano John R. Velazquez Todd Pletcher 14
15 Itsmyluckyday Elvis Trujillo Eddie Plesa, Jr.  12
16 Frac Daddy Victor Lebron  Kenny McPeek 18
17 Goldencents Kevin Krigger  Doug O'Neill  8
18 Vyjack Garrett Gomez Rudy Rodriguez 20
19 Falling Sky  Luis Saez  John Terranova II  13


BuzzFeed News' official Twitter page captured the epic moment as Orb strode across the finish line:

After being the morning-line favorite on Wednesday, Orb's stock began to fluctuate. Ultimately, though, he once again became the favorite at 5-1 before the start, according to NBC's broadcast.

With the win, Orb became the first odds-on favorite to win the Derby in five years.

In the middle of the race, Orb was as far back as 15th before Rosario gave him the jolt needed for a trip to the winner's circle. The thoroughbred stormed down the final stretch to overtake leader Normandy Invasion, maintaining the edge as Golden Soul and Revolutionary made one final push.

Orb's trainer, Shug McGaughey, is a Lexington, Ky., native who has been desperately seeking his maiden victory at this historic race. It finally happened, and it also marked the first time Rosario won the Run for the Roses.

Massive hype, increased fame and intensified scrutiny will inevitably surround Orb, who will make another bid for the Triple Crown. The last to pull off the sport's ultimate trifecta was Affirmed in 1978.

Orb is the fifth champion to emerge from the No. 16 post position, which is the most successful starting point on the outside 10 posts in the race's renowned history.

Very recently, that has been a magical spot, as ESPN Stats & Info points out:

Below is a list of the payout for the top three performers:

Horse Win Place Show
$12.80 $7.40 $5.40
Golden Soul
$38.60 $19.40


$2 Exacta: (16-4) paid $981.60; $1 Trifecta: (16-4-3) paid $3,462.80; $1 Superfecta: (16-4-3-5) paid $28,542.00.

Rosario is on a heck of a roll, as this was already the 130th winner he's mounted in 2013—but obviously none bigger than this.

Let the speculation begin as to whether the dynamic team of Orb and Rosario can successfully triumph at all three of horse racing's marquee showcases. The Triple Crown slate continues with the Preakness Stakes on May 18.


Note: Statistics, odds and prior results, unless otherwise indicated, are courtesy of KentuckyDerby.com.