Teammates Carlos Gomez and Jean Segura in Top 5 for N.L. Batting Race

Jerry TappSenior Analyst IIIMay 5, 2013

MILWAUKEE, WI - APRIL 30: Carlos Gomez #27 of the Milwaukee Brewers celebrates in the dugout after reaching home on a double hit by Martin Maldonado in the bottom of the second inning against the Pittsburgh Pirates at Miller Park on April 30, 2013 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. (Photo by Mike McGinnis/Getty Images)
Mike McGinnis/Getty Images

There isn’t much good to say about the Milwaukee Brewers recent four games against the St. Louis Cardinals, so let’s look at something positive: the batting prowess of Carlos Gomez and Jean Segura.

Gomez is leading the National League in batting with a .368 batting average. (Trivia question: Can you name the last Milwaukee Brewers player to win a batting crown? Answer at the end of the column.)

Segura is sitting in fourth place in the batting race with a .333 average. If you would have said that two Brewers would be in the top five of the N.L. batting race in early May, chances are Gomez and Segura probably would not have the been the two players you would have suspected.

The season is a long way from being complete, but let’s dream a little.

If Gomez and Segura end the season in the top five of the batting race, they would be the first Brewers teammates in the top five since 1991 when Willie Randolph (.327, third place) and Paul Molitor (.325, fifth place) finished in the top five.

Other Brewers teammates to finish in the league batting top five at the end of a season include: 1984 (Robin Yount .331, second place; Cecil Cooper .313, fifth place) and 1973 (George Scott .306, second place) and Davey May (.303, fifth place).

Let’s expand the parameters a little; here’s a look at the Brewers teammates who finished in the top 10 of the league batting race in a season.


Season, Teammates

2009: Ryan Braun (.320, seventh place) and Felipe Lopez (.310, ninth place)
1991: Randolph (.327, third place) and Molitor (.325, fifth place)
1989: Yount (.318, fourth place) and Molitor (.315, sixth place)
1988: Molitor (.312, fifth place) and Yount (.306, tenth place)
1987: Molitor (.353, second place) and Yount (.312, tenth place)
1983: Ted Simmons (.308, ninth place) and Yount (.308, tenth place)
1982: Yount (.331, second place), Cooper (.313, fifth place) and Molitor (.302, tenth place)
1979: Molitor (.322, sixth place) and Sixto Lezcano (.321, seventh place)
1973: Scott (.306, second place) and May (.303, fifth place)

Trivia answer: The Brewers have never had a batting champion. They have, however, had five players who finished runner-up in the batting race: Scott (1973), Cooper (1980), Yount (1982), Molitor (1987) and Braun (2011).

Stats resource


Follow Jerry on Twitter @StatsonTapp