Big Ten Football Announces 2014 Conference Schedule

Randy ChambersAnalyst IMay 16, 2013

COLLEGE PARK, MD - SEPTEMBER 24: Head coach Randy Edsall of the Maryland Terrapins squats on the sidelines during the closing moments of the Terrapins 38-7 loss to the Temple Owls at Byrd Stadium on September 24, 2011 in College Park, Maryland.  (Photo by Rob Carr/Getty Images)
Rob Carr/Getty Images

While you are probably still trying to take in the upcoming football schedule and marking off which games you see as a victory, the Big Ten has decided to give you even more information.

The conference schedules for the 2014 season have officially been released, according to the Big Ten website. 

So, who is your team going to play more than a year from now?

Well, you can click here to check out the entire schedule for all 14 teams.

What makes this schedule so interesting is that it includes the new divisions and teams. Starting in 2014, the conference will have expanded to 14 teams with the addition of Maryland and Rutgers. It will also get rid of the awful Legends and Leaders division names and go with the more traditional names in East and West.

The East division will include Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers. The West division involves the remaining teams with Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin.

As for how the scheduling will work out, each school will play all six teams in its own division and will play two teams from the other division beginning next year and in 2015. Starting in 2016, schools will then play three schools from the other division—once the conference officially begins its nine-game conference schedule.

Glancing over it quickly, Minnesota wasn't given many favors, and Northwestern will have a tough road in the beginning of the season. Also, Ohio State was given a favorable home schedule that should help the Buckeyes remain the favorites in the conference.

Although we have no idea who will be on the rosters a year from now, let the debating begin on who will win the Big Ten in 2014.