Ironman Brasil 2013 Results: Men's and Women's Top Finishers

Timothy Rapp@@TRappaRTFeatured ColumnistMay 26, 2013

Amanda Stevens celebrates her win. (Image via
Amanda Stevens celebrates her win. (Image via

Tim O'Donnell won the 2013 Ironman Brasil on Sunday, completing the grueling course that includes a 2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike ride and 26.2-mile run in a time of eight hours, one minute and 31 seconds.

On the women's side, Amanda Stevens won with a time of 9:05:52.

Igor Amorelli of Brasil finished second in the men's competition with a time of 8:19:39 in just his second Ironman, while Stefan Schmid finished third with a time of 8:25:01. on Twitter caught video of the fourth- through sixth-place finishers on the men's side crossing the finish line:

On the women's side, Sara Gross came in second with a time of 9:08:37, and Jessie Donavan rounded out the podium in third with a time of 9:10:28.

O'Donnell dominated the bike portion of the race, coming in with a bike split of 4:22:23, 10 minutes faster than any other participant. While he built a small lead after completing the swimming portion in 44 minutes and 19 seconds (Luiz Francisco de Paiva was hot on his tail after completing the swim in 44 minutes and 24 seconds), O'Donnell established his dominance on the cycle.

Whereas O'Donnell completely owned the men's race, the women's competition was much tighter.

While Stevens looked comfortable in the lead after 29 kilometers, Gross trimmed her lead to four minutes and 30 seconds with 10 kilometers to go and three minutes with four kilometers to go. The deficit was too great, however, and Stevens was able to take home the win.

Here are the results for the top men's and women's finishers:


Men's Results
Place Runner Time
1 Tim O'Donnell 8:01:31
2 Igor Amorelli 8:19:39
3 Stefan Schmid
4 Mario de Elias
5 Santiago Alves Ascenço
6 Petr Vabrousek 8:32:21
7 Thiago Dario Vinhal 8:37:53
8 Black Becker 8:38:46
9 Ciro Violin 8:41:33
10 Luiz Francisco de Paiva 8:45:58
Women's Results
Place Runner Time
1 Amanda Stevens 9:05:52
2 Sara Gross
3 Jessie Donavan
4 Mirjam Weerd 9:21:03
5 Haley Chura
6 Ariane Gomes Montice 9:26:46 
7 Anne Basso
8 Hillary Biscay
9 Silvia Felt
10 Mariana Borges de Andrade

Full results courtesy of