NHL Awards Show 2013: Live Stream, TV Schedule and Preview

Pete Schauer@@Pete_SchauerCorrespondent IJune 14, 2013

PITTSBURGH, PA - MARCH 4:  Sidney Crosby #87 of the Pittsburgh Penguins celebrates his third period goal against the Tampa Bay Lightning during the game at Consol Energy Center on March 4, 2013 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  The Penguins defeated the Lightning 4-3.  (Photo by Justin K. Aller/Getty Images)
Justin K. Aller/Getty Images

The lockout threw a wrench into the 2013 NHL awards show, but nonetheless, the show must go on.

The host city of Game 2 (Chicago) will be the location for this year's awards, which will be split into two nights.

The Masterton, Selke, King Clancy and Lady Byng trophies, the Jack Adams Award, the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award, the NHL Foundation Player Award and the NHL General Manager of the Year Award will be awarded on Friday night while the winners of the Hart, Calder, Norris and Vezina trophies and the Ted Lindsay Award will be presented on Saturday night, according to NHL.com.

Be sure to catch all of the action celebrating the best players, coaches and GMs from the 2013 hockey season.


When: Friday, June 14 at 5 p.m. ET and Saturday, June 15 at 7 p.m. ET

Where: Chicago, Ill.

Watch: June 14: NHL Network; June 15: NBC Sports Network

Live Stream: NHL.com (Friday); Cbcsports.ca (Saturday)

Information courtesy of NHL.com.


Full List of Awards and Nominees

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (Perseverance and dedication to hockey)

Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

Josh Harding, Minnesota Wild

Adam McQuaid, Boston Bruins


Calder Memorial Trophy (Top rookie)

Brendan Gallagher, Montreal Canadiens

Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida Panthers

Brandon Saad, Chicago Blackhawks


Frank J. Selke Trophy (Top defensive forward)

Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins

Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings

Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks


Hart Memorial Trophy (Most valuable player to his team)

Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

John Tavares, New York Islanders


Jack Adams Award (Top head coach)

Bruce Boudreau, Anaheim Ducks

Paul MacLean, Ottawa Senators

Joel Quenneville, Chicago Blackhawks


James Norris Memorial Trophy (Top defenseman)

Kris Letang, Pittsburgh Penguins

P.K. Subban, Montreal Canadiens

Ryan Suter, Minnesota Wild


Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (Best sportsmanship, gentlemanly conduct and ability)

Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks

Matt Moulson, New York Islanders

Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning


Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award 

Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators

Dustin Brown, Los Angeles Kings

Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks


NHL General Manager of the Year Award

Marc Bergevin, Montreal Canadiens

Bob Murray, Anaheim Ducks

Ray Shero, Pittsburgh Penguins


Ted Lindsay Award (Most outstanding player as voted by members of the NHLPA)

Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning


Vezina Trophy (Top goaltender)

Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets

Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers

Antti Niemi, San Jose Sharks

Via NHL.com.



Vezina Trophy: Sergei Bobrovsky

All three goaltenders definitely deserve credit for the campaigns they put together this season, but Sergei Bobrovsky is easily the most deserving of the Vezina Trophy.

Bobrovsky posted a 2.00 goals-against mark to go with four shutouts and a .932 save percentage this season—all numbers that were better or the same as Henrik Lundqvist and Antti Niemi. 

Bobrovsky was one of the lone bright spots on a Columbus Blue Jackets team that ranked 25th in goals scored and missed out on the NHL postseason, which highlights just how important he was to his team.

The 24-year-old goalie is your Vezina winner, and rightly so.


Hart Memorial Trophy: Sidney Crosby

Say what you want about Sidney Crosby's postseason performance against the Boston Bruins, but Crosby was the most valuable player to his team during the regular season and even into the playoffs against the Ottawa Senators and New York Islanders.

Crosby ranked tied for third in points this season, posting 15 goals and 41 assists while owning a plus-26 plus/minus (the last statistic absolutely blew away Alexander Ovechkin and Jonathan Tavares).

You can certainly make an argument for Ovechkin and Tavares based on their amount of game-winning goals to Crosby's, but I'm willing to bet Crosby set more of his teammates up for game-winners than Ovechkin and Tavares combined.

Crosby collects his second career Hart Memorial Trophy on Saturday night.


Calder Memorial Trophy: Brandon Saad

This one was a bit more difficult because Saad scored the least amount of points between the three candidates, but Saad posted a better plus/minus than Brendan Gallagher and Jonathan Huberdeau while taking the least amount of shots.

The fact that Saad's team is contending for the Stanley Cup speaks to how important he is to his team, especially when you consider he was fifth in points for the Chicago Blackhawks, on a roster that includes Patrick Kane, Jonathan Toews and Marian Hossa.

I won't be surprised if either Gallagher or Huberdeau take the award over Saad, because quite honestly, they were all sensational in their first season.

But I'm sticking to my guns and saying Saad is your 2013 Calder Memorial Trophy winner.



    Athletes Smoke Weed. These Are Their Stories.

    NHL logo

    Athletes Smoke Weed. These Are Their Stories.

    via Bleacherreport

    Peters Resigns as Hurricanes Head Coach

    NHL logo

    Peters Resigns as Hurricanes Head Coach

    Mike Chiari
    via Bleacher Report

    Capitals Are Finally Playing Playoff Hockey

    NHL logo

    Capitals Are Finally Playing Playoff Hockey

    NBC Sports
    via NBC Sports

    Bruins Beat Maple Leafs 3-1 in Game 4

    NHL logo

    Bruins Beat Maple Leafs 3-1 in Game 4

    via ESPN.com