Irwin Tools Night Race 2013 Results: Reaction, Leaders and Post-Race Analysis

Alex BallentineFeatured ColumnistAugust 24, 2013

BRISTOL, TN - AUGUST 24:  Matt Kenseth, driver of the #20 Dollar General Toyota, celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series 53rd Annual IRWIN Tools Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway on August 24, 2013 in Bristol, Tennessee.  (Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images)
Jerry Markland/Getty Images

In a race marked by intense action throughout, Matt Kenseth and the No. 20 car emerged victorious in the 2013 Irwin Tools Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway. 

The dramatic win gives the Joe Gibbs Racing driver his fifth victory of the season, as he edged out Kasey Kahne to take the checkered flag. Both Clint Bowyer and Kenseth locked up spots in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup.

The second-place finish marked the eighth time Kahne's finished in the top five this season. An inability to make key passes down the stretch prevented him from showing up in victory lane once again. Jeff Gordon put in a solid performance with a seventh-place finish, while Dale Earnhardt Jr. rounded out the top 10. 

POS Car # DriverMFG Started Laps Laps Led 
120Matt KensethToyota5500149
25Kasey KahneChevrolet75000
342Juan Pablo MontoyaChevrolet165000
455Brian VickersToyota45000
522Joey LoganoFord65000
627Paul MenardChevrolet2150064
724Jeff GordonChevrolet325000
89Marcos AmbroseFord145000
916Greg BiffleFord295000
1088Dale Earnhardt JrChevrolet1950032
1118Kyle BuschToyota435000
1234David RaganFord175000
1331Jeff BurtonChevrolet415000
1415Clint BowyerToyota2450050
1543Aric AlmirolaFord104990
1693Travis KvapilToyota394990
1730David StremmeToyota384980
1817Ricky Stenhouse JrFord274970
191Jamie McMurrayChevrolet204970
2014Mark MartinChevrolet114970
2139Ryan NewmanChevrolet84970
227Dave BlaneyChevrolet364970
2340Landon CassillChevrolet334970
2436J.J. YeleyChevrolet344960
2538David GillilandFord254950
2610Danica PatrickChevrolet224930
2732Ken SchraderFord354910
2811Denny HamlinToyota148723
2983David ReutimannToyota314830
302Brad KeselowskiFord124780
3178Kurt BuschChevrolet247654
3233Tony RainesChevrolet404750
3313Casey MearsFord304670
3429Kevin HarvickChevrolet154497
3556Martin Truex JrToyota94462
3648Jimmie JohnsonChevrolet134400
3735Josh WiseFord284180
3847Bobby LabonteToyota233940
3999Carl EdwardsFord3387119
4095Scott SpeedFord422230
4198Michael McDowellFord261750
4251Ryan TruexChevrolet18390
4387Joe NemechekToyota3710

Visit for results and race times.

Denny Hamlin started the race off strong from the pole position, but he wasn't able to take advantage and finished the race in 28th place. 

Bowyer would later take the lead from Hamlin, but he ran into some difficulty when a lapped car caused him to spin out. He would settle for a finish just outside the top 10 at No. 14. 

Jimmie Johnson, the Chase for the Sprint Cup points leader, was another victim of a crash. In a race that saw 11 cautions, he was caught up in one of the more hectic collisions, and it cost him. He finished toward the back of the pack at No. 36. 

With just 54 laps to go, a multiple-car wreck left many drivers with a disappointing finish and tempers flaring as the night race in Bristol headed toward the home stretch. 

However, the leaders of the pack were unscathed by the pileup and continued their pursuit for the checkered flag. Kahne passed Juan Pablo Montoya, but he was just a bit too conservative in his attempts to take the lead over Kenseth and paid dearly for it. 


2013 NASCAR Sprint Cup Standings

1Jimmie Johnson821---$6,565,91242915
2Clint Bowyer803-18$3,751,61200813
3Carl Edwards768-53$3,994,76411712
4Kevin Harvick760-61$4,314,52520612
5Kyle Busch739-82$4,645,191331014
6Matt Kenseth736-85$4,391,36352612
7Dale Earnhardt Jr.714-107$3,940,47801513
8Kasey Kahne701-120$3,648,02820811
9Greg Biffle698-123$3,394,51910310
10Joey Logano685-136$3,753,70311713

Complete standings found at

NASCAR's Sprint Cup series will continue on Sept. 1 with the AdvoCare 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway. The race will take place at 7 p.m. ET and be televised on ESPN. Denny Hamlin won the 2012 race.