CLT20: Chennai Super Kings vs. Trinidad & Tobago Scorecard, Recap and Standings

Mark PattersonUK Staff WriterOctober 2, 2013


Trinidad and Tobago stunned the Chennai Super Kings in the final Champions League T20 group game to win resoundingly and book their place in the final with an eight-wicket win.

So dominant were the Caribbean side, chasing down 119 with time to spare, that they ended up topping the group at the Super Kings' expense.

This means that Trinidad and Tobago play Mumbai Indians in one semi-final, while Chennai take on Rajasthan Royals in an all-IPL affair in the other.

The CSK batting could not cope with a disciplined bowling attack. Only Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina and MS Dhoni broke into double figures as they were all out with two deliveries of their 20 overs unused.

Lendl Simmons had crunched 63 of the first 79 runs the Caribbean outfit put on in reply when he fell, while opening partner Evin Lewis added a steady 38.

Neither were around to knock the winning runs, but their efforts had all but sealed the match—and top spot in Group B in the process.

Here's the scorecard as given by the official T20 website:

Chennai Super Kings Innings (Run Rate: 6.00)RunsBallsSR4s6s
 Michael Husseyb Ravi Rampaul1250.0000
 Murali Vijayb Lendl Simmons2724112.5040
 Suresh Rainac Ravi Rampaul b Lendl Simmons3829131.0331
 MS Dhonic Lendl Simmons b Rayad Emrit2525100.0020
 Dwayne Bravoc Denesh Ramdin b Rayad Emrit2450.0000
 Ravindra Jadejarun out (Yannick Ottley)3650.0000
 Albie Morkelb Ravi Rampaul41625.0000
 Subramaniam Badrinathrun out (Lendl Simmons)3560.0000
 Ravichandran Ashwinrun out (Navin Stewart)95180.0001
 Jason Holderc Lendl Simmons b Rayad Emrit010.0000
 Mohit SharmaNOT OUT010.0000
Extras(w 3, lb 3)6    
Total(All out; 19.4/20 overs)118 
  • BowlerORWEconDots
    Samuel Badree42406.009
    Ravi Rampaul43127.757
    Yannick Ottley21708.502
    Rayad Emrit3.42135.727
    Lendl Simmons21025.006
    Sunil Narine41203.0015
  • Fall of Wickets
    1/7 (Hussey, 1.4 ov)2/62 (Vijay, 8.1 ov)
    3/78 (Raina, 10.6 ov)4/84 (Bravo, 12.2 ov)
    5/88 (Jadeja, 13.4 ov)6/102 (Dhoni, 16.5 ov)
    7/106 (Morkel, 18.2 ov)8/116 (Badrinath, 18.6 ov)
    9/117 (Holder, 19.2 ov)10/118 (Ashwin, 19.4 ov)
Trinidad & Tobago Innings (Run Rate: 7.84)RunsBallsSR4s6s
 Lendl Simmonsc Mohit Sharma b Ravichandran Ashwin6341153.6554
 Evin Lewislbw Suresh Raina3835108.5760
 Darren BravoNOT OUT111478.5710
 Yannick OttleyNOT OUT11100.0000
Extras(b 5, lb 1)6    
Total(2 wickets; 15.1/20 overs)119 
Not Called to Bat
Denesh Ramdin
Nicolas Pooran
Sunil Narine
Rayad Emrit
Navin Stewart
Samuel Badree
Ravi Rampaul
  • BowlerORWEconDots
    Ravichandran Ashwin42416.0011
    Albie Morkel21809.006
    Ravindra Jadeja230015.002
    Suresh Raina41614.0010
    Jason Holder21708.502
    Dwayne Bravo1.1806.852
  • Fall of Wickets
    1/79 (Lewis, 10.1 ov)2/116 (Simmons, 14.2 ov)