NASCAR at Homestead-Miami 400 2013: Start Time, Lineup, TV Schedule and More

HOMESTEAD, FL - NOVEMBER 16:  Jimmie Johnson, driver of the #48 Lowe's/Kobalt Tools Chevrolet, practices for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway on November 16, 2013 in Homestead, Florida.  (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)
Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images
Maxwell OgdenCorrespondent IIINovember 16, 2013

On Sunday, Nov. 17, the 2013 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion will be crowned at the Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Defending champion Jeff Gordon will look to defend his event title, while three drivers will look to enter the record books in the race for the Cup Series.

Here's everything you need to know about the upcoming event.

Viewing Guide for 2013 Ford EcoBoost 400
DateTime (EST)TV
Sunday, Nov. 173:00 p.m.ESPN
Defending champion: Jeff Gordon


Top Contenders

HOMESTEAD, FL - NOVEMBER 16:  Matt Kenseth drives the #20 Dollar General Toyota during practice for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway on November 16, 2013 in Homestead, Florida.  (Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images
Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images

When it comes to the 2013 Ford EcoBoost 400, it's worth noting that seven of the 13 winners at this race track have been driving Ford cars. All of the drivers who won this race in a Ford are competing in this year's event, and that's why they should be viewed as the top contenders.

All eyes will be on the Sprint Cup Series, but that doesn't mean the goal of winning this race is meaningless.

Greg Biffle and Tony Stewart are the only three-time winners at this event, and Carl Edwards won it in 2008 and 2010. All three of those drivers should be viewed as favorites due to their past success.

If not those three, all eyes should be on 2012 winner Jeff Gordon and Sprint Cup contender Matt Kenseth.

Kenseth trails Jimmie Johnson by 28 points, but he won the Ford EcoBoost 400 in 2007 and will start with pole position. Gordon, meanwhile, is one of the most decorated racers in NASCAR history and is in position to win a second straight race at this event.

Anything can happen, but if anyone has momentum, it's Kenseth.


Down to Three

HOMESTEAD, FL - NOVEMBER 16:  Jimmie Johnson drives the #48 Lowe's/Kobalt Tools Chevrolet through the garage area during practice for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway on November 16, 2013 in Homestead, Florida.  (
Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images

The race for the 2013 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series title is down to three drivers. Jimmy Johnson is currently in the lead, while Kenseth and Kevin Harvick are the only other drivers with a realistic shot at completing a monumental comeback.

Here's a full breakdown of the Sprint Cup Series standings, per

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Standings
1.Jimmie Johnson482384Leader
2.Matt Kenseth202356-28
3.Kevin Harvick292350-34
4.Kyle Busch182327-57
5.Dale Earnhardt Jr.882321-63
6.Jeff Gordon242304-80
7.Greg Biffle162301-83
8.Clint Bowyer152297-87
9.Joey Logano222287-97
10.Kurt Busch782285-99
11.Ryan Newman392259-125
12.Kasey Kahne52252-132
13.Carl Edwards992250-134

This is what you call down to the wire.

Johnson has won the Sprint Cup Series in five separate seasons, clinching the title in every year from 2006 to 2010. The highest mark for Sprint Cup Series championships held in NASCAR history is seven by both Dale Earnhardt and Richard Petty.

If anyone can close things out, it's Johnson.

Regardless of what Kenseth and Harvick do at this event, Johnson will need to finish at 24th or lower for there to be a champion other than No. 48. The most realistic scenarios would require either Kenseth or Harvick to win and lead the most laps to take home the Cup Series gold as Johnson falters.

It's improbable, but anything can happen.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices