Redditor Creates Geographically-Based NFL Divisions

Tyler BrookeSenior Analyst IIFebruary 8, 2014

The NFL divisions are named by conference and cardinal directions, but it's never really made sense to have a northern team like the Indianapolis Colts in the AFC South.

One Reddit user helped make sense of everything, creating his own divisions by geographical location. Some divisions look quite similar, and in fact the NFC North would still be the exact same division.

On the other hand, the NFC South would look very different, with the Houston Texans, Dallas Cowboys and Arizona Cardinals joining the New Orleans Saints. 

Here is the list of divisions:

AFC North: Bills, Giants, Jets, Patriots

AFC South: Buccaneers, Dolphins, Jaguars, Falcons

AFC East: Bengals, Browns, Colts, Steelers

AFC West: 49ers, Chargers, Raiders, Seahawks

NFC North: Bears, Lions, Packers, Vikings

NFC South: Cardinals, Cowboys, Saints, Texans

NFC East: Eagles, Ravens, Redskins, Panthers

NFC West: Broncos, Chiefs, Rams, Titans

Thanks to Reddit user Nevermore60 for the map and new theoretical divisions. 

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices