IPL: 20 Great Sixes in the Tournament's History

Alex Telfer@@troyspeerFeatured ColumnistApril 25, 2014

IPL: 20 Great Sixes in the Tournament's History

0 of 20

    Saurabh Das

    Hold on to your hats, here is a collection of 20 of the best Yes Bank Maximums...or sixes as they are normally known, in the IPL's history so far.

    There are huge hits, stunning pieces of timing, incredible improvised strokes and even fortuitous slices that have somehow carried all the way. Enjoy.

1. Chris Gayle

1 of 20

    One of the best from Chris Gayle's stunning innings of 175 off 66 balls against the hapless Pune Warriors.

2. Rahul Dravid

2 of 20

    Rahul Dravid isn't a man you normally associate with hitting maximums but, if you can make it through the grainy footage, "The Wall" tees off like Tiger Woods.

3. Mahela Jayawardene

3 of 20

    It must be a great feeling to hit a ferocious paceman like Brett Lee for six and Mahela Jayawardene knows all about it. 

4. David Miller

4 of 20

    OK, the ball deserved it, but David Miller still showed incredible brute strength to force it over the long off boundary to win the game for Kings XI.

5. Shane Watson

5 of 20

    There's something very pleasing on the eye when a bowler gets hit straight back over his head for six as Shane Watson delivers here.

6. Brendon McCullum

6 of 20

    How this almost regulation square cut from Brendon McCullum goes for six remains a mystery, but it's a good example of how T20 cricket has changed the way people bat.

7. Virat Kohli

7 of 20

    Minimal technique in this one from Virat Kohli, who relies on a brute force slog in order to clear the boundary.

8. Virat Kohli Again

8 of 20

    A good example from Virat Kohli in how to move your feet against a spinner to get to the pitch of the ball.

9. MS Dhoni

9 of 20

    MS Dhoni crushes one literally out of the stadium to record the biggest six in IPL 2012.

10. AB de Villiers

10 of 20

    OK, so AB de Villiers wasn't the first to do it in cricketing history, but this reverse sweep for six is still an incredible shot to even attempt, let alone pull off.

11. Sachin Tendulkar

11 of 20

    Sachin Tendulkar always adopted a more classical approach to batting even in the IPL, but this shot shows that even the Little Master wasn't afraid to improvise.

12. Kevin Pietersen

12 of 20

    Former England star Kevin Pietersen unleashes his trademark shot for the Delhi Daredevils.

13. Suresh Raina

13 of 20

    Classic shot from Suresh Raina, dropping down on to one knee to smash Sunil Narine into the stands.

14. Glenn Maxwell

14 of 20

    Not much subtlety in this shot from Glenn Maxwell as he brutally hoists Irfan Pathan over the midwicket boundary.

15. Virender Sehwag

15 of 20

    An almost effortless pull shot from Virender Sehwag somehow travels all the way.

16. Gautam Gambhir

16 of 20

    Back in the day when Gautam Gambhir (he's recorded three consecutive ducks this year) was a very dangerous opening batsman as evidenced by this aggressive shot in just the second over.

17. Rohit Sharma

17 of 20

    Further evidence that T20 is a batsmen game here with Rohit Sharma standing and delivering to send a fairly stock ball from Morne Morkel into the stands.

18. Adam Gilchrist

18 of 20

    So much for taking a look at the wicket. Aussie legend Adam Gilchrist picks up one on his legs and launches it into orbit.

19. Kieron Pollard

19 of 20

    Kieron Pollard's forward defensive shot goes for six. Just another day in the IPL.

20. Chris Gayle Again

20 of 20

    Seeing as though he's hit 180 of them so far, here's another monstrous effort from Christopher Henry Gayle to close us out.