IPL 2014: 9 Records Broken During This Year's Tournament

Tim Collins@@TimDCollinsFeatured ColumnistMay 29, 2014

IPL 2014: 9 Records Broken During This Year's Tournament

0 of 9

    Aijaz Rahi/Associated Press

    The soon-to-conclude Indian Premier League season has produced exhilarating cricket in 2014. 

    With the league phase complete, just three teams remain. The Kolkata Knight Riders, the Chennai Super Kings and Kings XI Punjab continue their quests to claim to tournament's precious silverware. 

    Remarkably, a host of records have been toppled during this incredible campaign despite the fact that two matches on the schedule are still to be played.

    Across the following slides, we examine nine of the records that have been smashed by the tournament's breathtaking stars in 2014.

Fastest 50 in IPL History

1 of 9

    The fastest recorded 50 in IPL history prior to 2014 was Adam Gilchrist's 17-ball blitz for the Deccan Chargers against the Delhi Daredevils in 2009, per ESPN Cricinfo.

    Given the explosive nature of the tournament, it's highly impressive that the Australian's record remained intact for so long.

    However, Yusuf Pathan broke that long-standing barrier during this year's campaign, reaching his half-century in 15 balls against Sunrisers Hyderabad on his way to a thunderous 72 from 22 deliveries.

    Pathan's heroics continued Kolkata's blistering form to propel them above the Chennai Super Kings and into second place on the points table. 

Lowest Overall Net Run Rate in the IPL

2 of 9

    Uncredited/Associated Press

    It has been a miserable few months for Kevin Pietersen. And it hasn't gotten any better in India. 

    Statistically, his Delhi Daredevils outfit completed the worst season in IPL history in 2014.

    Prior to this year's event, no team had ever recorded an overall net run rate below minus-1.160, according to the IPL's official website.

    Following his axing from the England team, Pietersen led the Daredevils to just two wins from 14 matches (equalling the worst mark in tournament history) at a net run rate of minus-1.182.

Highest 4th-Wicket Partnership in the IPL

3 of 9

    Bangalore's star-studded middle order was expected to elevate Virat Kohli's side into the upper reaches of the IPL points table in 2014.

    Unfortunately, things didn't transpire that way.

    But in one of the few games in which the team's batting powerhouses took over, Yuvraj Singh and AB de Villiers combined to set a record fourth-wicket partnership in the IPL.

    With a 132-run stand against the Rajasthan Royals, the pair surpassed the previous mark of 131, set by De Villiers in conjunction with Chris Gayle in 2012, per ESPN Cricinfo

Highest 8th-Wicket Partnership in the IPL

4 of 9

    Scott Barbour/Getty Images

    The best mark for an eighth-wicket partnership in the IPL also tumbled in 2014.

    In a lower-order fightback, Brad Hodge and James Faulkner combined for a rapid 69-run stand against the Mumbai Indians in the 44th match of the tournament. 

    But despite comfortably toppling the previous IPL best—a 53-run stand between Ryan McLaren and Harbhajan Singh in 2010, per ESPN Cricinfo—the Australian pair were unable to haul their side to victory against the Mumbai Indians.

Highest IPL League-Phase Strike Rate with 200-Plus Runs

5 of 9

    Scott Barbour/Getty Images

    Strike-rate records can be misleading at times if not set against certain criteria. For instance, Syed Mohammad struck his runs at 400.00 in 2012 thanks to smashing the only delivery he faced to the boundary.

    Thus, it's important to set a 200-run benchmark for players, as the best batsmen stride to the crease up to 14 times.

    By that measure, Glenn Maxwell has been the most rapid accumulator of runs in the IPL's history in 2014. Across 13 innings in the league phase, the Australian smashed 533 runs at a strike rate of 191.73, according to the IPL's official website.

    The next best in the tournament's history was Kieron Pollard's mark of 185.71 after scoring 273 runs in 2010.

Worst IPL League-Phase Economy Rate with 10-Plus Overs

6 of 9

    Morne de Klerk/Getty Images

    Another record for Glenn Maxwell, but a more unwanted one on this occasion. 

    Despite being the tournament's most fearsome batsman, the 25-year-old recorded the worst economy rate with the ball for any player to have bowled 10-plus overs in the competition's history. 

    From exactly 10 overs, the part-time off-spinner was hammered for 128 runs at an economy rate of 12.80, according to the IPL's official website.

    The worst mark recorded prior to this season was Virender Sehwag's economy rate of 12.09 from 11 overs in the IPL's inaugural year.

Most Consecutive Ducks in the IPL

7 of 9

    Aijaz Rahi/Associated Press

    In a run of truly abysmal form at the beginning of this season's IPL, Kolkata Knight Riders captain Gautam Gambhir set a new record for consecutive ducks in the IPL. 

    At the top of his team's order, the left-hander registered three scoreless innings on the trot against Mumbai, Delhi and Bangalore. 

    According to ESPN Cricinfo, Gambhir's unfortunate run represents the first time that has happened since the IPL's inception. 

Highest Run Rate for Any IPL Innings Exceeding 10 Overs

8 of 9

    Mumbai's truly spectacular heist of the final play-off spot in 2014 came after the Indians put together one of the most breathtaking innings in Twenty20 history. 

    Chasing Rajasthan's 189-4, Rohit Sharma's men thumped their way to 195-5 in just 14.4 overs to snatch fourth place on net run rate from the Royals.

    In doing so, Mumbai chased down the target at 13.29 runs per over—the highest figure ever recorded for an IPL innings exceeding 10 overs, per ESPN Cricinfo

    The previous mark of 13.15 was set by Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2013 when Chris Gayle smashed 175 to steer his team to a total of 263 in 20 overs.

Most Consecutive 40-Plus Scores in Twenty20 Cricket

9 of 9

    Themba Hadebe/Associated Press

    Kolkata's Robin Uthappa has been on an incredible run of form in this season's IPL.

    Since May 2, the stylish right-hander has put together 10 consecutive 40-plus scores to launch his surging team into the tournament's final.

    Prior to this tournament, no one had put together more than five straight scores of 40 or more in the IPL's history. In Twenty20 cricket as a whole, HD Ackerman's string of six such innings was the previous world record.

    Uthappa has smashed that mark this season.