Grand-Am: Angelelli Holds Off Gurney To Win Brumos Porsche 250

Tony CastaneiraAnalyst IJuly 5, 2009

Max Angelelli held off a last-lap charge from Alex Gurney to win the Brumos Porsche 250 at Daytona International Speedway, round seven of the 2009 Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series.  Angelelli, who also won this event in 2004, won by .270 seconds - the fifth-closest finish in the history of the series.
Together with co-driver, Brian Frisselle, in the No. 10 SunTrust Ford Dallara. Angelelli led the final 33 of the 70 laps to give his team its first victory of the year, and allowed the two drivers to close to within one point of point leaders Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas (199-198). Gurney and his Gainsco/Bob Stallings Racing co-driver, Jon Fogarty are another two points back with 196.

"It was a very fair game," Angelelli said after scoring his 13th career Daytona Prototype victory, second all-time. "It was a good, tough battle. It was really difficult today. Thanks to SunTrust Racing for the good car they gave me. I went out for my stint in the lead, which was really important."

The event, traditionally held in the evening, was moved to 2 p.m. to set up a holiday doubleheader that also included the Coke Zero 400 for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.

The No. 45 Orbit Racing BMW Riley took third with Ryan Dalziel and Bill Lester, who scored his first podium finish in Rolex Series competition.
"Our car was good from the moment we unloaded it," Lester said. "We feel like we can be much more formidable, a force to be reckoned with. We're really excited about what the future holds."

Coming from 17th to finish fourth The No. 6 Michael Shank Racing Ford Riley almost missed the race after John Pew crashed late in morning practice, causing major damage to the front end of the car co-driven by Michael Valiante. The team repaired the car with moments to spare before the start...

The No. 61 AIM Autosport Ford Riley of Burt Frisselle and Mark Wilkins, which started last on the 19-car grid after a post-qualifying infraction worked it’s way up the field to round up the top five

The two cautions helped to an average speed of 114.918 mph, the third-fastest race in Rolex Series history.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers Kyle Busch and Scott Speed finished 10th in their Rolex Series debut in the No. 02 Waste Management Lexus Riley fielded by Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates.

Keen, Werner Win Third Straight, Increase GT Point Lead

The No. 87 Farnbacher Loles Racing Porsche GT3, with drivers Dirk Werner and Leh Keen, led the final 29 laps to claim its  third consecutive victory and fourth in five races, opening a 29-point lead (221-192) in the battle for the Acxiom GT championship.

"For our success, the key is that Leh Keen keeps our car in the front in the beginning of the race," said Werner, the 2007 GT champion. "In the beginning of my run, Sylvan was not putting pressure on me. He was trying to stay close. I knew he would try to attack me at the end of the race - which he did."

Sylvain Tremblay in the No. 70 Castrol Syntec Mazda RX-8 started by Nick Ham finished 1.531 seconds behind, denying the its third consecutive victory in the event.
Andy Lally and Justin Marks finished third in the No. 67 Construct Corp./No Fear Energy Drinks Porsche GT3. Emil Assentato and Jeff Segal took fourth in the No. 69 FXDD Mazda RX-8.  Eric Lux and Wolf Henzler, the winner’s teammates finished fifthe in the No. 86 Farnbacher Loles Racing Porsche GT3.

Round 8 for the Grand-Am Rolex Series will be the Porsche 250 presented by Legacy Credit Union July 19 at Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham, Ala. The weekend will also include a pair of KONI Sports Car Challenge races.

Photos & Quotes: Grand-Am