2010 NCAA Softball World Series: Down to the Final Eight

Rick GillispieCorrespondent IIMay 31, 2010

The 2010 Softball World Series kicks off on Thursday with eight teams vying for the title.

Three teams each from the Pac-10 and the SEC make up the bracket along with one from the Big 12 and one from the WAC.

The World Series is a double elimination tournament until there are two teams left; then it is a best of three series.

Let's meet the teams.


No. 3 seed Washington

The defending champs lost their first game to Oklahoma in the super regionals but won the next two to make the field. They will play Georgia on day one. The Huskies' record is 50-7.


No. 4 seed Florida

The Gators won all of their postseason games and are looking for a rematch of last year's final. The Gators will tackle UCLA on Thursday. Florida's record is 48-8.


No. 5 seed UCLA

The Bruins are back and looked great in winning their super regional series against La.-Lafayette. The Bruins are 45-11 and will tackle Florida on day one.


No. 6 seed Georgia

The Lady Bulldogs are 48-11 and destroyed California in the super regional series. Georgia will play Washington on day one.


No. 9 seed Missouri

Missouri is 51-11 and the only team from the Big 12 to make the field. Missouri will battle the upstart Hawaii team, who upset the No. 1 seed, Alabama.


No. 10 seed Arizona

Arizona is the third Pac-10 team to make the tourney.  They will battle Tennessee, who upset No. 2, Michigan, in the super regional. Arizona is 48-11 on the year.


No. 15 seed Tennessee

The Lady Vols upset No. 2 seed, Michigan, in their super regional and will battle Arizona on day one. Tennessee is 47-13 on the year and is the third SEC team to make the tourney.


No. 16 seed Hawaii

Hawaii surprised No. 1, Alabama, by winning Games Two and Three to take their super regional contest. Hawaii led the country in home runs and will look to keep that going against Missouri on day one. Hawaii is 49-14 on the year.


There will be four games on Thursday and two on Friday.  Four will take place on Saturday and at least two on Sunday before the championship series starting on Monday, June 7.