Wisconsin Badgers Football logoWisconsin Badgers Football

2010 Big Ten Awards: Nine Wisconsin Badgers Earn All-Conference Honors

ANN ARBOR, MI - NOVEMBER 20:  James White #20 of the Wisconsin Badgers looks for running room while playing the Michigan Wolverines at Michigan Stadium on November 20, 2010 in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Wisconson won the game 48-28.  (Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images)
Gregory Shamus/Getty Images
Jim OxleyContributor IDecember 1, 2010

The 2010 Big Ten All-Conference Teams and Individual Award winners were recently announced, and once again, the lists were highly populated with Wisconsin Badgers.

Senior offensive tackle Gabe Carimi walked away with the Big Ten Offensive Lineman of the Year award, and was a consensus first team All-Big Ten pick for the second straight year.

Running back James White picked up Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors, and made the All-Big Ten second team.

White becomes the second Badger in as many years to win the Big Ten Freshman of the Year award. Last year, Wisconsin linebacker Chris Borland received the honor.

Five Badgers earned first-team honors. Carimi, senior offensive guard John Moffitt, senior tight end Lance Kendricks and junior defensive end J.J. Watt were all consensus first team All-Big Ten selections. Carimi and Moffitt were both second-year winners. Junior cornerback Antonio Fenelus was a first-team selection by the media, and was given All-Conference honorable mention by the coaches.

Four Badgers made the All-Big Ten second team. Junior running back John Clay was a consensus All-Big Ten second team selection. White, senior quarterback Scott Tolzein and junior safety Aaron Henry were also second team selections.

Tolzein was also selected as Wisconsin's Sportsmanship Award honoree, and is now a finalist for the Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award. The winner will be picked at the end of the school year.

Many Badgers were given All-Conference honorable mention, including Montee Ball, Philip Welch, Mike Taylor, Niles Brinkley, Blake Sorenson, Bill Nagy, Peter Konz, Ricky Wagner and Kevin Zeitler.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices