2009 NASCAR Predictions

SteveCorrespondent INovember 10, 2008

I will be predicting the 2009 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion, race winners, and Raybestos Rookie of the Year. I will also be predicting the 2009 Nationwide Series champion and the 2009 Camping World Truck Series champion.

Daytona 500

Winner: Tony Stewart

Tony finally gets that elusive Daytona 500 win in his first race as a car owner.

Auto Club 500

Winner: Jeff Gordon

I believe that Jeff will have a bounce-back season as he ends his winless drought.

Shelby 427

Winner: Greg Biffle

Roush Fenway Racing has just been dominant at Vegas.

Kobalt Tools 500

Winner: Carl Edwards

Carl will continue his dominance at Atlanta.

Food City 500

Winner: Jeff Gordon

The king of the short track will regain that name this year.

Goody's Cool Orange 500

Winner: Denny Hamlin

Samsung 500

Winner: Jeff Gordon

Jeff finally gets his first win at Texas.

Subway Fresh Fit 500

Winner: Jimmie Johnson

Same place where he swept both races the year before.

Aaron's 499

Winner: Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Bounce-back year for JR.

Crown Royal Presents The Your Name Here 400

Winner: Jeff Gordon

Jeff wins here for the first time since 2000.

Southern 500

Winner: David Ragan

David gets his well deserved first career win.

Coca Cola 600

Winner: Reed Sorenson

Reed picks up his first win in a race that has produced many first time winners.

Best Buy 400

Winner: Matt Kenseth

Kenseth finally ends his winless drought.

Pocono 500

Winner: Kasey Kahne

Kasey won this race the year before.

Lifelock 400

Winner: Kyle Busch

Kyle gets his first win of 2009 after having eight in 2008.

Toyota/Save Mart 350

Winner: Sam Hornish Jr.

Sam did well at road courses in the IRL so this is where I think he gets his first win.

Lenox Industrial Tools 301

Winner: Jeff Gordon

Coke Zero 400

Winner: Dale Earnhardt Jr.

LifeLock.com 400

Winner: Jeff Burton

Allstate 400 at the Brickyard

Winner: Jeff Gordon

Pennsylvania 500

Winner: Jimmie Johnson

Centurion Boats at the Glen

Winner: Tony Stewart

3M Performance 400

Winner: Carl Edwards

Sharpie 500

Winner: Carl Edwards

Pep Boys Auto 500

Winner: Kyle Busch

Chevy Rock & Roll 400

Winner: Jeff Gordon

Sylvania 300

Winner: Ryan Newman

Ryan gets his first win since the 2008 Daytona 500.

Camping World RV 400

Winner: Jimmie Johnson

Camping World RV 400 presented by Coleman

Winner: Jeff Gordon

Pepsi 500

Winner: Kyle Busch

Bank of America 500

Winner: David Reutimann

Another first time winner at Lowe's

TUMS QuikPak 500

Winner: Jeff Gordon

AMP Energy 500

Winner: Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Dickies 500

Winner: Carl Edwards

Checker Auto Parts 500

Winner: Jimmie Johnson

Ford 400

Winner: Jeff Gordon

2009 Top Five in Points

  1. Jeff Gordon-10 Wins
  2. Jimmie Johnson-4 Wins
  3. Carl Edwards-4 Wins
  4. Dale Earnhardt Jr.-3 Wins
  5. Tony Stewart-2 Wins

2009 Rookie of the Year: Joey Logano

2009 Nationwide Series Champion: Brad Keselowski

2009 Camping World Truck Series Champion: Erik Darnell