PBA: World Series of Bowling to Represent Record 15 Nations

Mike Zacchio@@Zacchio_LoHudContributor IOctober 15, 2011

Courtesy of the PBA
Courtesy of the PBA

Six bowlers from Bahrain have entered into the 2011 World Series of Bowling, bringing the total number of nations represented to 15, a new record for the PBA.

Other countries that will be represented at the third annual event include: Australia, Canada, Colombia, Denmark, England, Finland, Germany, Mexico, New Zealand, Poland, South Korea, Sweden, Venezuela and, of course, the United States.

Non-exempt bowlers can enter in the tournament for a one-time $800 entry fee, which will include participation in the Bayer Viper Open, Chameleon Open, Scorpion Open, GEICO Shark Open and the PBA World Championship. Capacity is limited to 240 bowlers, spots will be accepted on a first-come basis.

As of Oct. 12, there are currently 83 spots still available. The WSOB kicks off November 5 at the South Point Casino, Hotel and Bowling Center in Las Vegas.

Unfortunately, we will not get to see the same magic we saw in the Brunswick Pro Bowling Cheetah Championship, as there will be no such event this season. Many bowling fans can remember Eugene McCune thrashing the competition with a 9-0 match-play record en route to the title victory over Norm Duke.

The Munster man and 25-year vet of the tour fired games of 300, 253, 275, 279, 279, 279, 236, 300 and 267 to obliterate the nine-game pinfall record Walter Ray Williams set in Arizona in 2004 by 101 pins. The title was just McCune's second, despite such a lengthy career. Although, in his defense, McCune defeated Duke and Williams back-to-back to claim his title in 2002, and he then defeated Duke again in 2010.

I must confess, those are two victories I wouldn't mind having on my resume.

Past WSOB Results:
2010 Brunswick Pro Cheetah:
McCune denies a Duke repeat 238-237
2010 Pepsi Viper: Bill O'Neill defeated Andres Gomez 236-208
2010 Chameleon: Scott Norton defeated Sean Rash 256-181
2010 Scorpion: Yong-Jin Gu defeated Jun Yung Kim 236-224
2010 GEICO Shark: Osku Palermaa defeated Dan MacLelland 173-149
2010 World Championship: Chris Barnes defeated Bill O'Neill 267-237

2009 Viper: Rhino Page defeated Ryan Ciminelli 268-246
2009 Chameleon: Bill O'Neill defeated Ronnie Russell 205-192
2009 Scorpion: Mike DeVaney defeated Jason Belmonte 189-170
2009 Shark: Jack Jurek defeated Mike Fagan 218-218 (10-8 in roll-off)
2009 World Championship: Tom Smallwood defeated Wes Malott 244-228
2009 Brunswick Pro Cheetah: Norm Duke defeated Ryan Ciminelli 4-1; (best of seven) 212-226, 236-228, 257-213, 236-193, 258-205