NHL: Board of Governors Officially Approves League Realignment

Ryan PickardCorrespondent IDecember 5, 2011

NEW YORK, NY - SEPTEMBER 27:  (R-L) NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell, MLS Commissioner Don Garber and NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman speak to attendees during 'Sports Teams for Social Change,' hosted by Beyond Sport United on September 27, 2011 at Yankee Stadium in the Bronx borough of New York City.  (Photo by Mike Stobe/Getty Images)
Mike Stobe/Getty Images

TSN.ca is reporting the NHL Board of Governors has officially approved a realignment plan that will see the league go back to four conferences starting next year.

The realignment was necessary after the Atlanta Thrashers left for Winnipeg this past season.

Details have not been released yet, but it will be interesting to see if the Detroit Red Wings finally move east, which they have been wanting to do for years, as well as seeing if any big rivalries will be broken up. 

More to follow.

The new expected conferences are as follows: 

The Northeast Division, in addition to the Canadiens, Bruins, Maple Leafs, Sabres and Senators, has now added the Tampa Bay Lightning and Florida Panthers. 

The Atlantic Division, with the Flyers, Penguins, Devils, Rangers and Islanders, will add the Washington Capitals and Carolina Hurricanes. 

The Central Division, with the Red Wings, Blackhawks, Bluejackets, Predators and Blues, will add the Minnesota Wild, Winnipeg Jets and Dallas Stars. 

The final division will include the Ducks, Flames, Oilers, Kings, Coyotes, Sharks, Canucks and Avalanche. 


This article was first seen on beanheadsports.com.