Joe Gibbs Racing logoJoe Gibbs Racing

Greg Zipadelli Released from Joe Gibbs Racing Effective Immediately

Greg Zipadelli, formally of Joe Gibbs Racing
Greg Zipadelli, formally of Joe Gibbs RacingJason Smith/Getty Images
Brandon CaldwellCorrespondent IDecember 16, 2011

According to, Joe Gibbs Racing has released crew chief Greg Zipadelli, who will be joining Stewart-Haas Racing.

Since 1999, "Zippy" has won 34 races, 33 with Tony Stewart and one with Joey Logano.

With Darian Grubb taking over the No. 11, and Jason Ratcliff taking over the No. 20, JGR will enter 2012 with two new crew chiefs and a new engine package.

Since the 2009 season, Tony Stewart has 11 wins, and Zipadelli has one. Joey Logano and  Zipadelli have been expecting big things the last two seasons and failed to win a race.

Since switching to Toyota, Gibbs has lost his best driver, and now his best crew chief, as well as merging his engine department with the other Toyota teams. I wonder if Joe Gibbs is regretting the Toyota move.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices